Shankland named PFA Scotland Player of the Year

Lawrence Shankland has been named the Scottish Premiership Player of the Year.

The Hearts forward picked up the prize at the PFA Scotland awards in Glasgow on Sunday night after scoring 21 goals this season.

He was shortlisted for the award alongside Jack Butland, James Tavernier and Matt O’Riley in a vote by fellow players.

Meanwhile, Falkirk boss John McGlynn was confirmed as the SPFL manager of the year, after beating Derek McInnes and Tony Docherty to the prize.

McGlynn’s Falkirk went the entire season unbeaten.

It was a clean sweep for Rangers in the SWPL awards, as Rachel Rowe was named player of the year, Mia McAulay won young player of the year and Jo Potter won manager of the year.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Rabbi Matondo’s goal against Celtic in April is the Scottish Premiership goal of the season, as voted by Sky Sports readers

Sky Sports readers voted for Rangers’ Rabbi Matondo to win the Scottish Premiership goal of the season after his equaliser in April’s pulsating 3-3 draw against Celtic at Ibrox.

His goal saw off competition from Aberdeen’s Connor Barron, Celtic’s Luis Palma, Kyogo and Matt O’Riley, Heart of Midlothian duo Lawrence Shankland and Alan Forrest, Kilmarnock’s Marley Watkins, Motherwell’s Blair Spittal, Rangers team-mate James Tavernier and Adama Sidibeh of St Johnstone.

Elsewhere, Brian Graham was named Championship player of the year, Callumn Morrison claimed the League One prize and the League Two award went to Gregor Buchanan.

Ad content | Stream Sky Sports on NOW

Watch Premier League, F1, SPFL, Tennis and more on Sky Sports with NOW
Watch Scottish Premiership, Premier League, F1, Tennis and more on Sky Sports with NOW

Stream Sky Sports live with no contract on a Month or Day membership on NOW. Instant access to live action from the Scottish Premiership, Premier League, EFL, F1 and so much more.

Find out more here…

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top